1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. About
  4.  » Board of Directors


AWWNSW is led by a Board of Directors. The Board consists of nine Directors, six of whom are elected to their positions and three that are appointed for their skills and experience. The Board provides strategic oversight of the organisation, setting the strategic direction and ensures that the organisation has the resources it needs to service its community. The members of the NSW Board include:

Jennifer Collins, Chair

Chair and Member of AWWNSW, Jennifer is a former Deputy Commissioner at the Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission and State Manager for the Department of Veterans Affairs for NSW/ACT. Jennifer has extensive experience in executive leadership roles for the State and Federal Governments, with post graduate qualifications in Health, Management and Counselling, and is a Member Australian Institute of Company Directors. Jennifer has been actively involved in the Ex-Service community since 2004, and Chair of the Kokoda Track Memorial Walkway Foundation. Jennifer has over 40 years of experience working at various executive levels at a state and Federal level of Government in policy, program development and service delivery.

Stuart Clark AM FAICD, Deputy Chair

Deputy Chair and Chair of the Finance Risk and Audit Committee
and Member of AWWNSW, Stuart is a former partner of Clayton Utz, former President of the Law Council of Australia and has served as both director and chair of several not-for-profit boards. Stuart is currently Chair of VRA Rescue NSW Limited. He is involved in a range of other activities in the community, including serving as a captain in the NSW Rural Fire Service and an Adjunct Professor of Law at Macquarie University Law School. Stuart is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. His late mother, Helen Clark, was a member of the War Widow’s Guild.

Rhondda Vanzella OAM, NSW State President

State President and AWWNSW Member, Rhondda is a war widow and is the current National President of the War Widows Guild Inc and sits on the Council of the Australian War Memorial. Rhondda is also a member of the Remembrance Driveway Committee; Ambassador on the NSW Centenary of ANZAC Advisory Council; member RSL Ladies Auxiliary; affiliate member of Returned and Services League Bundanoon sub-branch; President of the RSL Rural Commemorative Youth Choir. Previously, Rhondda was Vice President of the Kangaroo Re-enactment March from Wagga Wagga to Sydney and spent 15 years as Electorate Chief of Staff and confidant to Dr Brendan Nelson AO.

Tricia Hobson

Tricia is a partner at law firm DLA Piper and former partner at Norton Rose Fulbright. Tricia has worked within the insurance sector for over 25 years and is a globally recognised industry leader with extensive experience in claims, complex multi-party
litigation, cross border disputes, investigations and arbitrations. Tricia has been noted in the Asia Pacific Legal500 Hall of Fame for insurance and is described as “a generational leader without peer for London market knowledge”. She is also a Band 1 ranked practitioner in Global Chambers, with clients regarding her as “one of the best class action lawyers in Australia”. In addition to her legal practice Tricia dedicates time giving back to the legal profession through mentoring and coaching, and to the community through NED roles for NFP organisations. (Source: https://www.dlapiper.com).


MAJGEN Coyle is a senior officer in the Australian Army and member of AWWNSW. MAJGEN Coyle initially joined the army as a reservist in 1987 but, following training at the Australian Defence Force Academy, was commissioned into the Royal Australian Corps of Signals in 1992. She has commanded the 104th Signal Squadron (2003-04), 17th Signal Regiment (2009–10), Task Group Afghanistan (2015) and the 6th Combat Support Brigade (2017–19), and has deployed on operations to East Timor, the Solomon
Islands and Afghanistan. She was appointed Commander Joint Task Force 633, with responsibility for all Australian operations in the Middle East, from January to November 2020. She was the first woman to command the task force, which had oversight for 1,200 personnel under Operation Accordion. MAJGEN Coyle is the current Head of Information Warfare for the Australian Defence Force and Department of Defence. (Source: Department of Defence)

Lynne Boyd

Lynne is a war widow and is a member of AWWNSW, a member of the Vietnam Veterans & Peacemakers Association, President City Saturday Guild Club, and Friendship Line Volunteer. Before retiring, Lynne worked for community-based organisations in Sydney and has worked for the NSW Police Force as a civilian administration officer. Lynne has represented the State President on several occasions at Guild and Social Club meetings and events over the last three years.

Queen Dunbar

Queen is a war widow and is a member of AWWNSW. Queen is a mother of teenage children and is an English teacher and flight attendant. Queen has represented the views of younger war widows on the DVA Female Veterans and Families Forum, Legacy forums and is on the Advisory Committee for the Australian War Memorial’s re-development project.

Barbara Jeanes

Barbara is a war widow and member of the AWWNSW. Barbara is a member of the Finance Audit and Risk Committee and Investment Advisory Committee. Barbara volunteers her time on the friendship line and has represented the State President at Guild and Social club functions on several occasions over the last 5 years.


Dianne Vogt

Dianne is a war widow and member of AWWNSW. Prior to her retirement, Di held the position of Secretary to a Conciliation Commission and was a former Judge’s Associate in the Industrial Commission of NSW. Di volunteers her time to support both AWWNSW and the Motor Neurone Disease Association. Di is Coordinator of the Younger Members Social Club and Friendship Line Volunteer. Di has represented the State President at official functions over the last 12 months.


Current October 2021

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This